Updates: Results for merged districts’ historic elections


PESHAWAR (9Newshd): The polling time for the first-ever elections for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa provincial assembly seats in the erstwhile Federal Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) concluded on Saturday at 5 pm.

Polling began in 16 districts at 8 am. Security forces were been deployed inside and outside 554 highly sensitive polling stations. According to the provincial election commissioner, results in the tribal districts will be given on WhatsApp due to a network issue in the area.

There were a total of 1,897 polling stations set up for the election. 282 candidates were vying for the 16 general seats, including nominees for the ruling Pakistani Tehreek-e-Insaf, JUI-F, Awami National Party, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, Jamaat-e-Islami, Pakistan Peoples Party, and independents.

Two women are contesting the provincial election to be held in the tribal areas of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province.

Naheed Afridi from the Awami National Party (ANP) is hoping for a win in the conservative Khyber district’s constituency of PK 106. There are a total of 148,470 voters in this constituency, of which 65,652 (44 percent) are female.

The other woman is Malasa Bibi, who has been fielded by the Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) for PK 109 in the Kurram district. In her constituency, there are 187,844 voters in all, of which 82,560 are women.

Unverified, unofficial results

The seven districts have been divided into 16 provincial assembly seats. The unofficial and unverified results reported so far are:

PK-100 Bajaur I

The results of 103 polling stations are in. PTI’s Anwarzeb Khan is leading with 12,158 votes, while JI’s Maulana Waheed Gul is trailing with 11,972 votes. ANP’s Gul Afzal has secured 5,913 votes.

PK-101 Bajaur II

PTI’s Ajmal Khan is victorious with 12,204 votes to JI’s Haroon Rasheed’s 10,448.

PK-102 Bajaur III

JI’s Sirajuddin is leading with 19,088 votes. PTI’s Hameedur Rehman received 13,436 votes.

PK-103 Mohmand I

ANP leader Nisar Mohmand is victorious with 11,247 votes to PTI candidate Rahim Shah’s 9,669.

PK-104 Mohmand II

Independent candidate Malik Abbas Rehman is in the lead with 11,751 votes, while JUI-F’s Maulana Arif Haqqani has received 9,801. PTI’s Sajjad Mohmand has gotten 7,755 votes.

PK-105 Khyber I

The unofficial results of all 110 polling stations have come in. Independent candidate Shafiq Sher Afridi has won the seat with 18,135 votes, while independent candidate Sher Khan is second with 6,767 votes.

PK-106 Khyber II

The unofficial results of all 89 polling stations have arrived. Independent candidate Bilal Afridi has won with 12,814 votes, while PTI’s Amir Khan Afridi is second with 6,561 votes.

PK-107 Khyber III

Independent candidate Shafique is victorious with 2,029 votes. The runner up was another independent candidate, Hameedullah Jan, who only secured 679 votes.

PK-108 Kurram I

Independent candidate Jameel Chamakni has emerged victorious with 8,075 votes. JUI-F’s Muhammad Riaz Bangash came second with 7,646 votes.

PK-109 Kurram II

PTI’s Syed Iqbal Mian won with 12,589 votes. Independent candidate Inayat Ali Tori is in second place with 7,816 votes.

PK-110 Orakzai

Independent candidate Ghazi Ghazan Jamal won with 18,448 votes. PTI’s Shoaib Hassan got 14,699 votes.

PK-111 North Waziristan I

PTI’s Muhammad Iqbal is leading with 9,489 votes, while JUI’s Maulana Samiuddin is behind him with 8,678 votes. Independent candidate Jamal Abid Al Nasir is in third with 5,653.

PK-112 North Waziristan II

Independent candidate Mir Kalam Wazir is in the leade with 8,000 votes. JUI-F’s Mir Sadiqullah is second with 4,567 votes, closely followed by PTI’s Aurangzeb Khan who has 3,946 votes.

PK-113 South Waziristan I

According to the results from 119 of 139 polling stations, JUI’s Maulana Assamuddin has 7,210 votes while independent candidate Abdul Waheedullah has 6,565 and PTI’s Afsar Khan has 4,297.

PK-114 South Waziristan II

PTI’s Naseerullah is leading with 6,916 votes, while independent candidate Arif Wazir has bagged 6,497 votes.

PK-115 Ex-Frontier regions

PTI’s Abid Rehman won with 20,669 votes and JUI-F’s Mohammad Shoaib came in second with 18,373. For more latest news Pakistan, visit 9newshd.tv


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here