Pakistan to play three T20s, two Tests in Australia this year

Australia will host Pakistan for three Twenty20 internationals and two Tests, including a pink-ball day-nighter, later this year

Australia will host Pakistan for three Twenty20 internationals and two Tests, including a pink-ball day-nighter, later this year. 

Pakistan will play the T20Is at Sydney, Canberra and Perth in November, followed by the Test series. Brisbane’s Gabba will host the first of two Tests against Pakistan from November 21, followed by a day-night Test at Adelaide Oval, the schedule released Tuesday showed.

Australia will play back-to-back pink-ball Tests against Pakistan and New Zealand in a marathon international cricket season spanning almost five months and wrapping up next March, the latest finish since the 1970s.

Australia then face New Zealand at Perth Stadium for the second day-night match before the Boxing Day Test at Melbourne and finally Sydney. With only five Tests, Canberra and Hobart miss out.

The games will be the first on Australian soil that count towards the inaugural ICC Test Championship, where points are awarded to the nine countries taking part.

Ordinarily, one-day internationals are played at home in January, but Australia will instead be in India to fulfil an obligation under the Future Tours Program.

Cricket Australia wanted to find an alternative date for the series, but India reportedly refused to budge, meaning three one-dayers against New Zealand will instead start in March, extending the season to its latest finish in 41 years.

The last time the season ended so late was in 1979 when Australia hosted Pakistan for a Test in Perth.

“Scheduling international cricket is challenging in that nine of the 10 major cricketing countries have seasons similar to ours,” said Cricket Australia´s head of operations Peter Roach.

“So working with them to find space in the calendar to fulfil our obligations to the ICC Future Tours Program is a juggling act.

“Cricket Australia took the position that while January was our preference for these ODI matches, there are times we need to honour our commitments to work in the greater context of international cricket scheduling.”

The southern-hemisphere summer action opens on October 27 with the first of three Twenty20s against Sri Lanka, before three more T20s against Pakistan.

Australia´s women host Sri Lanka in a T20 and one-day series, before a tri-series against England and India ahead of the T20 World Cup on home territory in February.

Australia vs Pakistan

November 3 – 1st T20, Sydney

November 5 – 2nd T20, Canberra

November 8 – 3rd T20, Perth

November 21-25 – 1st Test, Brisbane

November 29-December 3 – 2nd Test. Adelaide (day/night)

Australia vs Sri Lanka

October 27 – 1st T20, Adelaide

October 30 – 2nd T20, Brisbane

November 1 – 3rd T20, Melbourne

Australia vs New Zealand

December 12-16 – 1st Test, Perth (day/night)

December 26-30 – 2nd Test, Melbourne

January 3-7 – 3rd Test, Sydney

March 13 – 1st ODI, Sydney

March 15 – 2nd ODI, Sydney

March 20 – 3rd ODI, Hobart


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here