List of all Prime Ministers of India | History Of Indian Prime Ministers


The Prime Minister of India, is the chief of government, chief advisor to the President of India, head of the Council of Ministers and the leader of the majority party in parliament. The Prime Minister leads the executive branch of the Government of India.

Since 1947, India has had 14 prime ministers, 15 including Gulzarilal Nanda who twice acted in the role.

The first was Jawaharlal Nehru of the Indian National Congress party, who was sworn in on 15 August 1947, when India gained independence from the British Raj. The current prime minister is Narendra Modi of Bharatiya Janata Party. He was sworn in on 30 May 2019.

This is a chronologically ordered list of the prime ministers, from the earliest to the most recent. For more latest news Pakistan, visit

  • Jawaharlal Nehru (1947–64)
  • Gulzarilal Nanda (1964; 1st time)
  • Lal Bahadur Shastri (1964–66)
  • Gulzarilal Nanda (1966; 2nd time)
  • Indira Gandhi (1966–77; 1st time)
  • Morarji Desai (1977–79)
  • Charan Singh (1979–80)
  • Indira Gandhi (1980–84; 2nd time)
  • Rajiv Gandhi (1984–89)
  • V.P. Singh (1989–90)
  • Chandra Shekhar (1990–91)
  • P.V. Narasimha Rao (1991–96)
  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1996; 1st time)
  • H.D. Deve Gowda (1996–97)
  • Inder K. Gujral (1997–98)
  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1998–2004; 2nd time)
  • Manmohan Singh (2004–14)
  • Narendra Modi (2014–2019; 1st time)
  • Narendra Modi (2019 – 2nd time)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here