Kilns without zigzag technology banned


LAHORE: Environment Protection Department (EPD) has imposed a ban on operations of all those brick kilns who were not using zigzag technology whereas all such kilns will not be allowed to operate after December 31, 2020.

A notification in this regard was issued by Provincial Secretary, EPD, Salman Ejaz on the directions of Chief Minister Usman Buzdar here on Wednesday. The notification will be implemented in 18 districts immediately and in this regard, a letter has been sent to DCOs concerned and officers of the environment department.

The kilns being closed for a month are in the districts of Lahore, Sheikhupura, Kasur, Faisalabad, Chiniot, Okara, Sahiwal, Khanewal, Multan, Nankana Sahib, Narowal, Sargodha, Jhang, Vehari, Hafizabad, Pakpattan, Gujranwala and Sialkot.

Punjab Minister Muhammad Rizwan has said that the purpose of banning the kilns is not to stop one’s livelihood but to control environmental pollution. He said the was being taken to control environmental pollution and only those kilns would be functional who ensure the use of zigzag technology.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here