Biography of Saleem Mandviwalla


Senator Saleem H. Mandviwalla was the President of the Board of Investment and Minister of State for Investment of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, a position he held from October 2008 till May 2013. Prior to his appointment, he was the President of the Lasbela Chamber of Commerce & Industry in Lasbela, Balochistan.

He was born on 25 January 1959. Saleem Mandviwalla graduated from Fort Worth School of Aviation in Fort Worth, Texas in 1981.

Mr. Saleem H. Mandviwalla comes from a well known business family. The family has been engaged in the real estate business in Karachi and other cities of Pakistan since 1921. The family expanded their line of business in different trades locally and internationally and own businesses in manufacturing, media and automotive sectors.

He had no experience of politics until the PPP won 2008 elections and formed its government in Islamabad where he had been appointed chairman of the Board of Investment in October 2008 because of his close association with party co-chairperson and then president Asif Ali Zardari.

Saleem Mandviwalla was elected as a member of senate during the senate elections of 2015. He took the oath and assumed office on 12th March, 2015. His six years long term will end in March 2021. His seat description is Technocrats including Ulema.

Currently he is associated with a number of committees of Senate, namely; The Twenty Four Demands made by Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Gas Infra Structure Development Cess Bill, 2015, Defence, Science and Technology, Textile Industry and Commerce.

He serves as the chairman of Finance Revenue Economics Affairs Statistics and Privatization committee. He was appointed as Minister of State for Finance Division, Government of Pakistan on 13th November, 2012 and later assumed office as the  Federal Minister for Finance, Government of Pakistan on 19th February, 2013.

Opposition-backed Sadiq Sanjrani on Monday 12 March 2018 bagged a lion’s share of votes to be elected Senate chairman while Saleem Mandviwalla became deputy chairman of the upper house of parliament. Sanjrani secured 57 votes while PML-N candidate Raja Zafarul Haq received 46 votes. Similarly, Mandviwalla secured 54 against Usman Kakar’s 44 votes. For more latest news Pakistan, visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here